How to train your dragon fanfiction

This is Berk.
It’s twelve days north of hopeless and a few degrees south of freezing to death. It’s located solidly on the meridian of misery. My village. In a word, sturdy. It’s been here for seven generations but every single building is new. We have fishing, hunting and the charming view of the sunsets. The only problem are the pests.
You see most places have mice or mosquitoes,but we have …DRAGONS.
Most people would have chosen to run away, but we don’t. Its a stubborn habit we have as vikings.
However, after a fellow viking of the village, Hiccup, made the village chief Stoick change his mind about dragons, we vikings have learnt to coexist with dragons and we have been doing so for 5 years already. Turns out these mighty beasts aren’t as fearsome as we thought they’d be.
I’m Jen Forest. I know its a weird name but just about everyone here gets weird names from their parents. Well, my parents work at the saw mill and they don’t usually go out to fight battles at the frontline, so I’ve always been hanging around helping them and sometimes playing with my pet dragon, the monstrous nightmare. My parents, despite the fact that they know dragons can coexist with us vikings, still disallow me from keeping Rivann (the name of my pet). Hence, I usually have to sneak out of the house to meet Rivann, who resides just off the coast of the Fishing port.
Yesterday, I was with Rivann, riding across the oceans when Hiccup, Astrid and the other teens were involved in a dragon race. I was pretty amused by the race, and I patted Rivann, saying, “Someday, you and I will qualify for that race.” Rivann nodded and shot out a bolt of fire. The bolt of fire hit one of the flags of the ring and set it ablaze. I was horrified. Just then, Astrid flew by on her dragon, Stormfly, and hit the bucket of water which put out the fire. She looked at me with a smile on her slightly tanned face. “Be careful next time!” She said as she waved goodbye to me and continued the race.
I really looked up to them : Astrid, Hiccup, Fishlegs, Snout and the twins…they were my role models. Although we were just about the same age, I still respected them and someday I hoped to be as good as they were.
Today, I snuck out of the house again to meet Rivann. Strangely,Rivann was not at his usual place! I searched high and low across the village but there was no sign of Rivann. Where could my dragon have gone?

Leave a Reply

